MUSIC TEACHERS NATIONAL ASSOCIATION

WEST CENTRAL DIVISION COMPETITION RESULTS

January 9 – 11, 2015 North Dakota State University, Fargo, North Dakota

Dr. Suzanne Torkelson - West Central Division Director

Dr. Beth Klingenstein, NCTM – West Central Division Director-Elect DeeAnn Brown, NCTM – West Central Division Competition Chair

Dr. William Law – Facilities Coordinator

Sara Bloom, NCTM – WCD Junior Coordinator David Tauscher – WCD Senior Coordinator

Jill Hanrahan, NCTM – WCD Young Artist and Chamber Coordinator Corinne Nustaad - Monitor Chair

Chamber Music String

	Entrant	Instrument	Teacher
Winner	Ensemble Kiowa (KS)		Scott McBride Smith/ Michael Kirkendoll
	Man Wang	violin	
	Margaret Lambie	flute	
	Mickayla Chapman	clarinet	
	Cong Cong Chai	piano	
Alternate	Everest Quartet (MO)		Julie Rosenfeld
	Tony Morales	Violin	
	Graham Woodland	Violin	
	Grant Bradshaw	Viola	
	Shannon Merciel	Cello	
	Judges: Kate Hamilto	on, Concordia College	

Judges: Kate Hamilton, Concordia College Sonja Harasim, Concordia College

Dr. Nariaki Suguira, University of North Dakota

Chamber Music Wind

	Entrant	Instrument	Teacher
Winner	UMKC Graduate Fellowship Woodwind Quintet (MO)		Mary Posses
	Natalie Higgins	French Horn	
	Trevor Stewart	Clarinet	
	Joshua Draves-Kellerman	Bassoon	
	Sandra Fernandez	Flute	
	Gregory Stead	Oboe	
Alternate	University of Minnesota Saxophone Quartet (MN)		Eugene Rousseau
	Benjamin Cold	Soprano Saxophone)
	Justin Sales	Alto Saxophone	
	Kendra Wheeler	Tenor Saxophone	
	Cameron Longabaugh	Baritone Saxophone	•
Honorable Mention	Corvus Saxophone Quartet (NE)		Paul Haar
	Brian Vuu	Soprano Saxophone	•
	Hendrik Viljoen	Alto Saxophone	
	Anna Mardesen	Tenor Saxophone	
	Michael Nguyen	Baritone Saxophone	
	ludges: Dr Monte Grise – Minneso	ta State University	

Judges: Dr. Monte Grise – Minnesota State University

Gwen Hoberg – University of North Dakota Dr. Cecilia Kang – North Dakota State University

Elementary Composition

Entrant Teacher

Winner Patrick McBrayer (CO) Gabrielle Dugan
Honorable Mention Eliza Young (NE) Regina Carnazzo

Judges: Robert Mueller, University of Arkansas Victoria Sabo, Bellingham, Washington Zack Stanton, Iowa City, Iowa

Junior Composition

Entrant Teacher

Winner Kaitlyn Rozeboom (NE) Regina Carnazzo
Honorable Mention Mayan Bhagavan (KS) David Tauscher

Judges: Robert Mueller, University of Arkansas Victoria Sabo, Bellingham, Washington Zack Stanton, Iowa City, Iowa

Junior Performance Piano

EntrantInstrumentTeacherWinnerNita Qiu (MN)PianoJoseph ZinsAlternateShana Liu (IA)PianoTed Reuter/ Mei-Hsuan HuangHonorable MentionChi Zhang (KS)PianoJack Winerock

Anna Damerau (CO)

Anna Damerau (CO)

Piano

Natalia Sim

Judges: Dr. Jay Hershberger – Concordia College Dr. Robert Groves – North Dakota State University Dr. Geraldine Ong – Valley City State University

Junior Performance String

EntrantInstrumentTeacherWinnerMaya Anjali Buchanan (SD)ViolinAlmita VamosAlternateKatia Tesarczyk (MN)ViolinSally O'Reilly

Judges: Dr. Simona Barbu – University of North Dakota Kate Hamilton – Concordia College Sonja Harasim – Concordia College

Junior Performance Woodwind

Representative Seth Glidewell (SD) Clarinet Beverly Gibson

Senior Composition

Entrant Teacher

Winner Logan Nelson (KS) Marlene Hallstrom
Honorable Mention Clayton Dryden (IA) Otto Getz

Judges: Victoria Sabo, Bellingham, Washington Robert Mueller, University of Arkansas Zack Stanton, Iowa City, Iowa

Senior Performance Brass

	Entrant	Instrument	Teacher
Winner	Nathanael Schatz (IA)	Trumpet	James Sherry
Alternate	Jacob Fenner (SD)	Euphonium	Boyd Perkins

Judge: Dr. Kyle Mack – North Dakota State University

Senior Performance Piano

Entrant		Instrument	Teacher
Winner	Daniel Eras (MN)	Piano	Alexander Braginsky
Alternate	Hans Chan (MO)	Piano	Annette Burkhart
Honorable Mention	John-Micah Braswell (CO)	Piano	Vergie Amendola

Judges: Dr. Jay Hershberger – Concordia College

Dr. Robert Groves - North Dakota State University Dr. Geraldine Ong – Valley City State University

Senior Performance String

	Entrant	Instrument	Teacher
Winner	Jennifer Ahn (NE)	Violin	Ruth Meints
Alternate	Julian Maddox (MN)	Violin	Sally O'Reilly
Honorable Mention	Sophie Luyten (CO)	Violin	Scott Esty
	Yejoo Lee (IA)	Violin	Mahlon Darlington

Judges: Dr. Simona Barbu – University of North Dakota

Kate Hamilton - Concordia College Sonja Harasim – Concordia College

Senior Performance Voice

	Entrant	Instrument	Teacher
Winner	Madeleine Wiegers (IA)	Voice-Soprano	Leanne Freeman-Miller
Alternate	Maria Giovanetti (CO)	Voice-Soprano	Becky Bradley
	Ludwa a Da Davia a Dla dalawa	I lost on the of North Dalast	_

Judges: Dr. Royce Blackburn – University of North Dakota

Dr. Holly Janz - Concordia College

Dr. Virginia Sublett - North Dakota State University

Senior Performance Woodwind

	Entrant	Instrument	Teacher
Winner	Rebecca Park (CO)	Flute	Nancy Andrew
Alternate	Ruquia Mulamba (SD)	Flute	Emily Anderson

Judge: Dr. Matthew Patnode - North Dakota State University

Senior Piano Duet

Entrant		Instrument	Teacher
Winner	Harrison Sheckler (IA)	Piano	Suzanne Torkelson
	Sarah Gao	Piano	
Alternate	David Thacker (KS)	Piano	Michael Kirkendoll
	Emma Thacker	Piano	
Honorable Mention	Nicole Santos (NE)	Piano	James Johnson
	Renee Santos	Piano	
	Caeley Campbell (MO)	Piano	Mia Hynes
	Nathan Wamsley	Piano	

Senior Piano Duet Judges: Dr. Nariaki Suguira – University of North Dakota Keith Teepen – University of North Dakota

Dr. Tyler Wottrich - North Dakota State University

Young Artist Composition

Representative Trey Makler (MO) W. Thomas McKenney

Judges: Victoria Sabo, Bellingham, Washington, Robert Mueller, University of Arkansas

Zack Stanton, Iowa City, Iowa

Young Artist Performance Brass

Entrant Teacher Instrument

Winner Natalie Higgins (MO) Horn Martin Hackleman Alternate Jacob Olsen (ND) Trumpet Jeremy Brekke Honorable Mention Amanda Wentz (SD) Trumpet **Grant Manhart**

Judge: Dr. Kyle Mack – North Dakota State University

Young Artist Performance Piano

Entrant Teacher Instrument Winner Shuang Zhang (CO) Piano Lei Weng

Halie Augustus (MO) Alternate Piano Jane Solose/ Robert Weirich

Honorable Mention Chi Kit Lam (KS) Piano Jack Winerock

Judges: Dr. Jay Hershberger – Concordia College

Dr. Robert Groves - North Dakota State University Dr. Geraldine Ong – Valley City State University

Young Artist Performance String

Entrant		Instrument	Teacher	
Winner	Sally Murphy (CO)	Cello	Gal Faganel	
Alternate	Xiaoxiao Du (MO)	Violin	Eva Szekely	
Honorable Mention	Alex King (ND)	String Bass	Erik Anderson	

Judges: Dr. Simona Barbu - University of North Dakota

Kate Hamilton – Concordia College Sonja Harasim - Concordia College

Young Artist Performance Voice

_	Entrant	Instrument	Teacher
Winner	Katherine Ridder (NE)	Voice-Soprano	Anne Foradori
Alternate	Brandon Browning (MO)	Voice-Baritone	Ann Harrell

Judges: Dr. Royce Blackburn – University of North Dakota

Dr. Holly Janz - Concordia College

Dr. Virginia Sublett - North Dakota State University

Young Artist Performance Woodwind

	Entrant	Instrument	Teacher
Winner	Michael O'Brien (MO)	Flute	Mary Posses
Alternate	Derek VanDenTop (SD)	Saxophone	Frederic Hemke
Honorable Mention	Nicholas May (NE)	Saxophone	Paul Haar

Judge: Dr. Matthew Patnode – North Dakota State University